Oakland Rallies for Runners and Itself

Dear Diary,

On the weekend I ran in a half marathon! Yippee! I am sure that a news audience would love to hear all about the marathon, but I’ll do even better and just write about my experiences and I’ll be sure to list some other marathons that I ran in the past.

At some point during the half marathon, I can’t remember which part because the details are as irrelevant as this entire blog post, I realized that people were yelling “Go Oakland” at me and other runners as well as the usual “Good Job” and “Way to Go.” That’s right – they were yelling at me. Me! I love to write about me, so that worked out nicely.

I have also run marathons in Wilmington, San Francisco and Brighton. Brighton is in England! I hadn’t heard anybody in those cities chant the name of the cities, so I’m assuming that it didn’t happen.

I don’t know why they were chanting Oakland because I didn’t bother interviewing anybody during or after the race. I figure everybody just cares about my life and about my assumptions about the audience’s behavior.

Read more…

